Stars of sporting world celebrate WHS Sports Presentation 2020

All Years Sport

A cast of A-Listers from the world of sport helped Wycombe High celebrate its Sports Presentation Evening, which was done virtually for the first time due to lockdown.

International athletes Isa Guha, Tracey Neville and Didier Drogba joined stars from broadcasting like Gabby Logan to congratulate the athletes of WHS on an outstanding year of achievement. Despite the big name guests, it was the stars of Wycombe High who shone the brightest in the excellently produced video, with the Inter Cross Country Team and Year 13's Lucy Sutton taking the big awards of the evening.

When lockdown occurred the hopes of holding yet another successful Sports Presentation Evening looked over. However, just like WHS athletes this year, the P.E. department refused to be beaten. They recruited a host of big names and, led by Miss Paice – who showed her editing talents – put together a wonderful virtual presentation evening which more than made up for the fact we could not be there in person.

There were reviews of team performances across all sports from the year, as well as awards given out for Player of the Year and Most Improved Player of the Year for all teams. As well as that half and full colours were awarded as well as a number of prestige awards. During this period of closure one of WHS’s external coaches Richard Atkinson passed away and to acknowledge his work, the P.E team created the Richard Atkinson Award for Coaching and Volunteering. In his memory, he is the first recipient of this award.

The presentation evening culminated in an interview with Tracey Neville, carried out by BT Sport’s Andy May, before the former England Netball head coach revealed the Team of the Year award.

List of winners ;
Exceptional Performance Award: Steph Marsden (Netball), Hannah Dawbarn (Football)
Sports Leader of the Year: Phoebe Grey, Lucy Sutton, Izzy Durkin
Richard Atkinson Award for Coaching & Volunteering: Richard Atkinson
Highly Commended Award: U18 Indoor Hockey team - Jemima Copeman, Sarah Pearce, Emily Westwood, Hafsah Azam, Annabel James, Rosie Coward, Emily Gillespie, Helen Neal, Maya Dunkin, Sophia Robinson, Josline Freed, Annie Weddell, Maddy Ripon, Stella Forde
Team of the Year: Inter Cross Country Team - Tia Lomas, Keshni Manek, Lyra Browning, Amber Galley, Annie Oakes, Rufaro Chikwanda
Sportswoman of the Year: Lucy Sutton
(please watch the video in full to discover players and most improved players of the year, as well as those achieving half and full colours)

List of guest contributors:
Isa Guha, former WHS student, England international cricketer & broadcaster
Maggie Alphonsi MBE, former England Rugby international
Gabby Logan, broadcaster and international gymnast
Dider Drogba, former Chelsea and Ivory Coast international, Premier League and UEFA Champions League winner
Susie Rodgers MBE, Rio 2016 Paralympic gold medallist
Amy Williams, Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympic Skeleton gold medallist
Erin Orford, former WHS student, GB Dressage
Hannah Barnes, professional cyclist
Tonia Couch, Team GB Diver
Hannah Botterman, England & Saracens Rugby player
Ian Sloan, GB & England Hockey international
Andy May, BT Sport
Tracey Neville, former England Netball international and England head coach

You may also be interested in...