Student Support

Wycombe High School offers a range of support services:

Student Support Service (SSS)

This team support students and parents with a wide range of services. They provide medical attention and triaging, organise parents’ consultations, meetings, deal with attendance, absence and punctuality, behaviour management, uniform, and signpost to other pastoral support across the school and externally. Student Support Services are located behind Reception at the front and at the heart of our school.

Matron – Mrs Caroline Isabelle

Student Support Administrator – Mrs Debbie Puleston

Student Support Administrator – Mrs Jo Winser

Healthcare Assistant – Mrs Sarah Heal

Pastoral Team

Student Support Services work directly with our Heads of Year/House and our Tutors. Every student has a tutor and is part of a House and Year Group. Wycombe High School’s pastoral structures work vertically and horizontally. Heads of House are responsible for the ethos and behaviour of their Houses. They also have a year group academic focus.

Special Educational Needs Department

Our Special Educational Needs department is led by an Assistant Headteacher, who is our SenCo and a Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead, supported by our full-time Individual Needs Leader and her team of Learning Support Assistants and a Specialist Teacher Assessor for Specific Learning Difficulties. Our SENd team work very closely with our Mental Health Team and provide training and guidance whole school to ensure our teachers and other staff are able to support a wide range of special educational needs.

Mental Health Team

Our Mental Health Team is led by our Mental Health Lead, Miss Laurie Garland. The team is made up of eight staff, including five counsellors, a family worker and a youth worker. They support our students directly and also signpost them to outside agencies should extra support be necessary. Our Team also develop and share well-being resources to use within the curriculum and outside of school with parents and families. Our statutory PSHE curriculum also keeps our students informed and aware of important matters related to their mental health and well-being. We have a dedicated Subject Leader for PSHEE, Mrs Lesley Woodward.

SENCo – Mrs Claire Cockcroft

Individual Needs Leader – Mrs Satpal Sunner

Learning Support Assistants – Mrs Misbah Shah and Mrs Mary Grocutt

Specialist Teacher Assessor – Gemma Adania

Mental Health Lead & DDSL- Miss Laurie Garland

Counsellors – Miss Kirstie Hancocks

Education Mental Health Practitioner – Bucks Mental Health Support Team

Youth worker – Bucks Mental Health Support Team

Family worker – Bucks Mental Health Support Team

You may also like...


Head's Up! Watch the latest video update from Mrs Cromie


WHS student reporters win top FA Sports Award


VIDEO: You shall go to the ball! - the Y13 Leavers' Celebration


Head's Up! Watch this week's video update from Mrs Cromie


Wycombe High's own sporting superstar is on top of the world


VIDEO: Wycombe High students strike gold in national Physics awards